Racing for Spring: Chris begins base training.

As some people say it, winter is the most important time for training for the race season. This is where the competitive base is built, the foundation of a periodization plan is created, and where the daydreams form of your races and how the season will go for you. Any racer who plans on being faster this year depends on this off-season training for the strength and endurance for the season.

But, just as anything worth doing, winter training is hard. Really hard. It is hard physically – being out in the cold for hours before or after work; hard mentally – trying to stay in the zone on a trainer while zoning out to Law and Order reruns; and just overall hard to put in work for a race season that seems so. far. away.

Which is why, traditionally, my winter sporting activities end in a series of compromises. Last year I had good intentions. But, after a cold snaps and snow days, I’d pretty much abandoned my training program. Naturally, when the first spring racing series rolled around in mid-March, I was barely keeping up with the pack. It wasn’t what I’d envisioned in January.

This year, however, things will be different. I am taking Winter Base Training (WBT) seriously, and blogging my progress.

Chris Bloome (photo credit: groovylab)

A little about me: My name is Chris. I’ve been racing bikes for several years; before that I ran cross-country and track. I am a cat 4 rider, originally from Florida and starting my third cycling season here in New York City. I live near Prospect Park, and work at Bicycle Habitat in Manhattan, so most of my races are in the park, before work on weekend mornings. I do also plan to make a couple out of town events this year (Battenkill here I come). I also plan on keeping up my winter running schedule through the spring and summer and racing a half Ironman in the fall.

I look forward to some good training and sharing it with you. If you have any questions along the way, email me at chris@bicyclehabitat.com. I will try to answer a few of them in my next post.

Chris

About bicyclehabitat

New York City's neighborhood bike store since 1978
This entry was posted in Bicycle Habitat, Staff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Racing for Spring: Chris begins base training.

  1. Pingback: Racing to spring: Training and measurement | bicyclehabitat

Leave a Reply

